Beethoven & Wine Festival: Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony

For my birthday this year, some friends and I attended a Seattle Uncorked event, “Beethoven and Wine Tasting”  with the Seattle Symphony on September 9th. Inexpespensive seats, Beethoven’s 5th, and wine at the same venue, who could ask for more! You got 4 tastes for $5.

I was happy to see some wineries that were new to me as well as a few familiar ones. I finally got to try both Nota Bene’s and Seia Wine Cellar’s Syrah. Both are 2006 and fabulous. Other wineries participating that night were: Glen Fiona, Silver Lake, Patterson Cellars, and Hollywood Hill.

My favorite wine of the night was from Patterson Cellars of Woodinville WA. Their Woodslake, non-vintage “Due Anni” a Syrah and Cabernet blend was lush, velvety, chocolately and simply delicious! Even my friend who doesn’t like Syrah, loved it! Very easy drinking and one of the cheapest bottles available that night at $15. I love it when it works out that way! However, when we tried to purchase a bottle after the performance, they were out! I hope they have more at the winery! I guess that will teach me a lesson about buying wine right away!

We did end up buying a bottle of “Big Smooth”, a 2006 Syrah, produced in collaboration between John Patterson of Patterson Cellars and David LeClaire, owner of Seattle Uncorked and Sommelier. Mr. LeClaire says I will like it if I like the “Due Anni”. I haven’t opened it yet, but will give a report when I do!

In any event, it was a great way to celebrate a birthday!

http://www.seattleuncorked.comhttp://www.washingtonwinecompany.com

About vineyardgurl

Bitchin' vineyardgurl, winemaker and all around enophile!

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Local Wineries, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

